Meet Crystal Storm, aka DCS

Synarchy by Crystal Storm


Synarchy has a pretty involved, complex storyline. I have been asked a few times, what was the process in putting something like that together. My answer; index cards. Lots and lots of Index cards. Seriously. I’m sure there are a lot of programs I could buy that would help me keep track of all my notes and research, and I was playing around with one of them for a second, Powerstructure I believe it was, but I’m old fashioned. My desk area must be clean before I sit down and get creative, otherwise the mess will distract me.

I’ve got this huge world map on the wall in front of me for quick reference. I’ve got pencils, highlighters and uniballs, (I must write with uniballs) within reach, and tons of multi-colour index cards. I’ve also got notebooks galore, and little pieces of paper up on my bulletin board that contain the random notes I’ve made to myself to research this, or include this and that in certain to be written scenes. When I really sit down to absorb my research I’ve got to have the paper in my hands, I don’t like reading for extended periods online. I know we’re in the digital age, but I like my paper. I’ve got stacks of it in semi organized piles on my desk, and three big accordion folders full. Some of my pile names are NAU Research, Shadow Government, Pyramids, and Ascension Research. Scientific on one side and Spiritual on the other. Yeah, I’ve read some really interesting stuff! But I did a lot of picking through it, and while Synarchy is a fictious story, there are some true and what I think important concepts interlaced in there that I hope people will pick up on.

I have an index card for every character, it’s got their birth date, and any information that I think I need to reference at a quick glance on it. When I was done with the novel, I summarized every single scene on an index card, and then spread them out in chronological order on my floor to make sure the timeline of events made sense, since it goes back and forth a lot. It was doing this that I realized just how detailed I’d made it!

When I sit down to write a scene it starts in my head a big chaotic jumble, like taking the pieces of a puzzle and tossing them into a pile on the floor. Then I’ll begin to weave ideas together, and once it gets going, it can go on for a while. I can spend days upon days locked in my creative world. I’m a little OCD about the details, and I think I suffer from too many ideas syndrome. There were a lot of times, when writing I had to stop, grab a pen and a blank piece of paper and make a quick outline, to remind myself of all the plot lines I was tying together. There’s a lot going on in Synarchy and Book Two will be just as intense if not a little faster paced.

Lot of work, but I felt like quite the creator when I was finished with it


Tell us a little about your latest novel and when and where we can get it.
In their quest to dominate the world, a powerful crime family, the Terenzios, discovers who the real players are that control the planet, and just how far they’re willing to go to keep their hold on humanity. Because of sheer arrogance, and the fact that they may be the only ones who can, Terenzio decides to fight back. Now, they’ve got until December 21st, 2012, to stop a sinister, centuries old plan, and give Earth a choice it was never given before. You can get a copy on Amazon, or from now until the summer solstice, I’m offering personalized autograph copies. See the books website at http://www.synarchynovel.com for more details.

How do you balance the creative process of writing with the demands of public appearances, maintenance of your website, and your family?
I wish I was having this problem! But, I’m not that busy yet. Luckily right now I’m single, my only responsibility other than to myself is my dog, a black and white Siberian husky with blue eyes, that’s my baby. My brother lives in the same area, so I see him a lot and my family is scattered in Virginia and New Jersey so, I get to spend the majority of my time on the creative process and book promotion.

Give us an example of a day in the writing life. Do you stick to a schedule of X amount of hours writing, editing, answering email, etc.?
I don’t like routine, so I don’t have this rigid schedule. I have my to do list, I have the things I want to get accomplished and I make the commitment to get them done that day. So, it’ll either happen in the morning before I go to what I call my fake job where I work at a hotel, or I’ll squeeze it in during my down time at work, or later that evening when I get home. That way my day isn’t so rigid, that I wake up and immediately do this. Now, I’ll be honest, it’s taking a lot of self discipline to work it out this way, but it works for me.

About the great ‘rule’ debate: we are told you can’t do this and you can’t write that. But it is stepping outside the lines that gets many authors noticed and eventually published. What are your opinions on the rules?
Keep the ones that work for you and discard the rest.

What music do you listen to when you write?
I love the sound of the rain while I’m working, otherwise I write in silence. I’ve got a lot going on in my head and the music tends to distract me. But when I’m doing my research I’ve got my iPod going and I’m very eclectic. My playlist has just about every music genre you can think of on it.

Has a song inspired you to write?
No, no song.

Do you have a favorite show on TV that helps in moving your muse?
24 and Heroes. I’m also going back and watching old Alias episodes and that’s a good one, too.

If you could collaborate with any author, living or dead, who would it be and why?
Dean Koontz. I love his books. I love the different elements he throws into them. From the Corner of His Eye is one of my absolute favorites of his.

What are your thoughts on promotion for books?
It’s tough. It really takes the writer into the business side of the craft. I’m lucky, because while I hated Corporate America when I worked in it, I like business. It definitely turns your creative endeavor into something job like, and it can be pretty tiring but, the possibility of being able to make a living as a writer is well worth the effort it takes.

What advice do you have for authors who haven’t quite gotten their manuscript to the next level, which for most is publishing?
Have a lot of determination, and lot of patience. There will be times when the fun, creative, light you up part of writing the novel becomes this tedious, time consuming :;gasp:: job like thing. Be prepared for it, don’t fight it and somehow try to find a way to make it nearly as fun as the creative process. Don’t be afraid to step outside of your box. With so many publishing and promotion options now, find the one that suits you and run with it.

2 Comments

Filed under authors, books, information

2 responses to “Meet Crystal Storm, aka DCS

  1. DCS

    Thanks for having me!

  2. Cheryl S.

    I enjoyed this interview & am looking forward to reading “Synarchy”. I really enjoy complex story lines especially in sci-fi type books.

    Thanks,
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

