Interview with Diana Rumjahn

Charlie and Mama Kyna

Diana Rumjahn received her bachelor’s degree in social science from San Francisco State University and has worked at the university for over the past two decades. She is currently an administrator at College of Creative Arts, where she received the “Star of the Month Award.” She wrote, directed, filmed, produced and edited the international award-winning film Going Home, which has been shown worldwide. Charlie and Mama Kyna won The Best Short Story for Children Award from 39th Annual Marin County Fair, Marin County, California, USA, 2009.

THANK YOU, Diana, FOR BEING ON BOOK MADNESS.

Tell us about yourself. Please share a short bio with us.

I am a filmmaker and published author. I have been writing ever since I was 5 years old. The book is about stuffed animals so I must share with you that I just love stuffed animals. They are so cute and bring a smile to me. I like films of different genres such as comedy, drama, action, documentary, science fiction, fantasy, and special interest.

Tell us about your book and where it can be found.

Charlie and Mama Kyna is a charming book with beautiful illustrations for children. The story and illustrations are based on my internationally acclaimed film, Going Home, which was shown worldwide, including 45 film festivals and London Film Festival.

The story is about a little stuffed animal frog, named Charlie who runs away in fear after accidentally breaking his mother’s favorite vase. Charlie makes his way to the city and meets a stuffed animal Lion, named Leo and a stuffed animal giraffe named Joe outside Mrs. Cupcake’s Bakery. The three become best friends and live inside a little orange tent outside the bakery.

After awhile, Charlie becomes homesick, misses his mother, Kyna, decides to go home and invites Leo and Joe to live with them. On the next sunny day, Charlie, Leo and Joe, journey to find Mama Kyna’s home.

Charlie and Mama Kyna can be found on Amazon.com.

What age did you discover writing? What is your earliest work about?
When I was very young, I was interested in writing in biographies and romance novels. My earliest work is unpublished.

Who has inspired you as an author?
I think many authors over the years have inspired me. I really can not say just one.

What’s the most interesting comment you have received about your books?

One comment said that my book is similar to the story of the prodigal son which I have not read. Another comment said that it’s a very childlike interpretation of an adult world filled with guilt, justice and punishment.

Do you have a specific time or place that you write?

I write whenever the thought enters into my mind.

I am currently working on a new film.

2 Comments

Filed under authors, books, information, reviews, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Interview with Diana Rumjahn

  1. Pingback: Pump Up Your Book Promotion’s November Authors on Virtual Book Tour – Day 15 « Pump Up Your Book Promotion Virtual Book Tours

  2. Thank you for being on Book Madness today!

Leave a Reply

