Interview with Trent Kinsey

THANK YOU TRENT FOR BEING ON BOOK MADNESS TODAY.


1. Tell us about yourself.

Well until close to two years ago, I was an active duty Marine who worked as a combat correspondent, public affairs chief and did a stint in marketing for Marine Corps recruiting. After close to twelve continuous years of service (both active and reserve), I left the ranks of the Corps to spend more time with my two children.

2. Tell us about your book and where it can be found.

My latest release is Ghosts of the Storm at Moongypsy Press.

Here’s a little of what it’s about.

When Bobby finds his neighbor, Joe, sitting out by the highway during the night a hurricane is making landfall, he is compelled to find out what is going on, because Joe always appears happy. Except tonight.

Bobby finds that Joe’s wife isn’t the love of his life, that the girl every man in McDavid, Florida, has wanted once was his lover. And that Joe blames himself for her death.

Even more concerning to Bobby is that Joe admits seeing the ghost of his lost love dancing in the median of Highway 49. And she wants him to join her.

3. What age did you discover writing? What is your earliest work about?

I remember wanting to start a novel at the age of thirteen, which is funny because I hated reading back then but something called to me. I had the idea of a meteor shower that pelted Earth, killing millions. But the remnants of the meteors contained some unknown life form, gaseous in nature yet would eat away flesh and bone in seconds.

4. Who has inspired you as an author?

My first inspiration was Stephen King. When I first started writing with the intent of actually being published, I was in Kuwait and read numerous novels. The majority of them were Stephen King.

Later I learned that one of my favorite horror influences, Clive Barker, actually wrote more works than had made into movies. So I began with Cabal and wanted more. Soon I found the one book that would be my favorite, Imajica, and to this day I have never read another that just entraps me as that did. It inspired me to write at a different level and to put so much more into my works.

5. What’s the most interesting comment you have received about your books?

Readers Favorite said my first short story, 10:15, reminded him of Ray Bradbury’s The Twilight Zone. And sense I grew up on Ray Bradbury, Alfred Hitchcock and Rod Serling, it came to me as a great compliment.


6. Do you have a specific time or place that you write?

Well I am a father of two, who also works a full time job as a civilian web master for the Marine Corps Reserve. Most of my writing happens between 7-11 p.m. That is when the kiddies are asleep and I can focus for more than five minutes at a time.

7. What’s next for you?
I wrote a novel—one that I finished in 2006—that needs to be revised and submitted. For some reason, I feel once I finish and submit it, I will be able to get back on the novel-writing horse again.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Interview with Trent Kinsey

  1. Tabitha Shay

    Great interview, Trent and congrats on the release of your latest book…Tabs

  2. Tabs,

    Thanks as always for stopping by. You rock!

  3. Tabs,

    Thanks for stopping by! You rock!

  4. As always an interesting view into your life Trent. Thanks for sharing and Ghosts is a fabulous read. Anyone who likes a tragic love story with some paranormal aspects in the mix should pick this up, and if that is genre you haven’t read then you should pick it up anyways as this is one you don’t want to miss.

  5. Lorrie

    Hi Trent,

    Another great interview. I enjoyed the read. Get back on that horse soon.
    Lorrie

  6. Hi Trent,
    Another great interview. Nice going. Get back on that horse soon.

Leave a Reply

