Chat with Cindy Jacks

THANK YOU CINDY FOR BEING ON BOOK MADNESS TODAY.

1. Tell us about yourself. Please share a short bio with us.

Prior to becoming a writer of romantic fiction, Cindy was a ‘jacks’ of all trades. Besides obtaining a BFA in sculpture, interning as a pastry-chef, and learning the art of furniture restoration, she worked for ten years in the corporate arena, but now happily spends her days as a full time author. Her first published work–“The Point of Distraction Series”–was inspired by a collection of short stories she wrote to entertain her best friend. Since then she’s explored her inner bad girl and penchant for love stories by producing books full of humor and packed with real emotion. When not chained to her laptop, she enjoys belly dancing, international cooking, and making jewelry. She and her family call the Washington, DC area home.

2. Tell us about your book and where it can be found.

All the Good Men is available in e-book, Kindle, and print May from Moongypsypress http://www.moongypsypress.com/jacks.php

Blurb: Dahlia is sure the hackneyed platitude is true: After a certain age, all the good men are married or gay. She feels her thirty-eight years put her well past that ‘certain age.’ Her best friend and her sisters dare her to put her fate where her mouth is. The terms of the challenge? During the month of October, she has to end her five-year-long man fast and go on dates with men of their choosing. Oh, and she also has to go out with anyone else who asks.

As the date disasters pile up, the vindication almost makes the torturous evenings bearable for Dahlia. But a handsome new neighbor, Jackson Carmichael, moves in, changing the rules of the game. Retired after twenty-six years as a pro firefighter in Boston, he volunteers with the local fire department, coaches a youth hockey team, and appears for all the world to be the perfect man. He just might throw a wrench into Dahlia’s plan to die lonely and single…that is if she doesn’t scare him away first.

3. What age did you discover writing? What is your earliest work about?

I’ve loved to write as long as I can remember. My earliest stories as kid were modeled around the Sweet Valley High series by Francine Pascal. Awful melodrama, really terrible, lol. As an adult, I love to write about interpersonal relationships. I still find a wealth of things to write about love and friendship.

4. Who has inspired you as an author?

My biggest supporters are my family. They’ve all given me so much encouragement to turn what once was a hobby into a profession. I’ve also had some wonderful professional mentors: Morgan Q. Reilly, Ericka Scott, Faith Bicknell-Brown, Emmy Ellis—my author soulmate—Kensana Darnell, and a fabulous cheering squad of author friends: Jambrea Jo Jones, Antonia Tiranth, and of course, now the Moongypsy Press family.

5. What’s the most interesting comment you have received about your books?

A reader once told me that she loved to lose herself in my stories, if only for a few hours. That really touched me because I want more, than anything else, for readers to derive real enjoyment from my work.

6. Do you have a specific time or place that you write?

I usually write in the living room on my laptop in the morning, when my son is at school and at night after he’s in bed, but really, I can write whenever, whereever. I’ve been known to take my author journal to the park and churn out a thousand words while my son is playing.

7. What’s next for you?

My next release, after All the Good Men, will be a suspense/thriller titled Clean writing as CJ Elliott. And I’m happy to announce I just signed a contract for a shifter romance tale title Hour of the Wolf.

Cindy’s links:
Cindy’s Website
Cindy’s blog
Cindy on Facebook

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Chat with Cindy Jacks

  1. nice interview and I love what you said about family support. it took nudging from mine to even get me to submit and they’ve been great every since.

  2. Kristin Manter

    as a moongypsy press reader, I have come to know cindy and have read several excerpts of her work. I have thoroughly enjoyed everything that I have read from her pen and look forward to one day calling her ‘mentor’. I highly recommend cindy to anyone who is looking for stories that they can’t loose themselves in and escape with.

Leave a Reply

