Guest blogger, Pembroke Sinclair

Coming from Nowhere was originally conceived when I was a junior in high school, which was a long time ago. The main story has remained intact, but the book has gone through four MAJOR revisions. If you were to see the very first draft, you wouldn’t believe it turned into the final version. I was inspired by many different things, but mainly movies. The main ones were Star Wars (Episodes 4-6) and Blade Runner. It’s pretty evident how those two films shaped my book.

Like Star Wars and Blade Runner, my book focuses on the characters, mainly JD. Told in third person limited perspective, the reader learns about the world the characters live in through JD’s perspective. I chose to focus on her because she doesn’t understand her world. I have to build a new world on Mars and in the rest of the galaxy, one that the readers can understand. By using JD’s perspective, nothing is taken for granted. The reader learns, as she does, the different nuances of the places she goes and how to survive. She has the help of the other characters, but everything is fresh and new, just like it is to the readers.

One thing I strive to do in my books is to make my characters life-like. They have some characteristics that make them slightly above average, but they still have emotions and feelings. Even though JD is trained in a military academy, she still reacts to situations like a normal person: she gets angry and she even cries. She experiences love and loss and what it’s like to be betrayed. The other characters have flaws, too, and sometimes the line between the good and the bad is blurred. My hope is that readers will find a character they can relate to, which will make the book that much more enjoyable to read.

You can buy Coming from Nowhere on Amazon here, to learn more about me visit my website at http://www.pembrokesinclair.blogspot.com, Or you can visit my publicists website at http://www.heetr.com

Coming from Nowhere
by Pembroke Sinclair

I am a HUGE sci fi geek, but I also really enjoy fantasy and horror. I always figured all of my books would be either science fiction or fantasy, but I’ve found that I’ve been branching more and more into horror. I really enjoy horror, but I never thought I wrote it very well. After all, it takes a lot to scare me, so I don’t think my writing is very scary. Coming from Nowhere has dark undertones, but it isn’t a traditional horror novel. I don’t have monsters (in the mythical sense) popping out of dark places and devouring people, but I do have very evil bad guys who can be considered monsters. Coming from Nowhere is more psychological horror than in-your-face blood-and-gore horror. The following is a list of the things that I think make the book dark and even a little scary:

1) People are afraid of the unknown, and there is nothing more frightening than not knowing where you came from.

2) Sometimes the most dangerous thing in the galaxy is you, even if you don’t realize it.

3) Even the people you know the best and love can have some of the darkest secrets.

4) There will always be people who want power and authority over others, and they will do anything to get it.

5) There aren’t always happy endings.

Things I Learned while Writing Coming from Nowhere
by Pembroke Sinclair

Coming from Nowhere was originally conceived when I was a junior in high school. Between then and the time it finally was published, it went through four MAJOR revisions. It was the first book I’ve had published, but I am constantly working on short stories and another novel. Writing is a process that you can constantly learn from, but the first book seems to be the roughest road. The following are the things I learned while writing Coming from Nowhere:

1) Revisions are a never-ending process. Even when you think you’re done, you can always make more changes. Eventually, you just have to say enough is enough.

2) Even though it’s good to be influenced by outside sources, especially classics, don’t try to copy them in your work. There’s a reason they are classics, and rehashing them won’t do them justice. Let your own voice come out.

3) Not everyone is going to like what you write, but that shouldn’t stop you from writing it.

4) Most writers write for the reader, and if the reader doesn’t get what you’ve written, then you’ve failed.

5) Rejection is part of the writing process, and you’d better learn how to accept it if you’re going to make it.

6) You don’t have to like your characters, but you have to believe in them. If you don’t, your readers won’t either.

7) Making up names for other places in the galaxy is hard, and spell check hates them.

8) If the reader is surprised when they read the big twist in your book, you’ve done a good job.

9) Hearing from readers who have enjoyed my book can make even the worst day better.

10) I really enjoy writing and creating new worlds.

Leave a comment

Filed under authors, books, information, reviews

Leave a Reply

