Heartbroken Promises 2, by Sherry Shumard

Heartbroken Promises2: BLURB:

Vicky Wainright decides to visit Jake’s Island so she can be close to her sister Miranda. She is offered a nanny job by Jordan a very handsome and eligible bachelor who is raising his son by himself. She meets her sister’s waiter Noah and is quickly torn between loving him and Jordan. She gets kidnapped while babysitting along with Jordan’s son Derrick and her sister believes that Noah was one of the kidnappers. How will she feel about Noah after she finds out the truth? Will Derrick and her be rescued or be killed?

Q: Tell us About Your Book:
In Heartbroken Promises 2 the main character Vicky Wainright decides to move to Jake’s Island to be close to her sister Miranda who recently got married to the man of her dreams named Jake. Vicky isn’t so lucky in her love life. She is torn between two men Noah and Jordan. Things are further complicated when she is kidnapped along with a baby named Derrick who she is babysitting. To make matters worse, one of her kidnappers may be Noah. She isn’t so sure who she can trust and life for her isn’t so great when she gets the news that she is pregnant. Will she and Derrick be rescued or be killed? Who are the kidnappers? Being on an island isn’t always a vacation when there’s someone out to get you…

Q: Tell us a little about yourself:
I’m married and I have three teenagers and a cat named Tiger and a beagle named Patches. I love to read and write romance and mystery novels. I’m the published author of: Heartbroken Promises and Heartbroken Promises 2. I’m currently working on Heartbroken Promises 3. I’ve also started writing a book about my personal experience as a sixteen year old runaway. I bought a one-way ticket to Jekyll Island when I was sixteen years old because I was going to runaway and start a new life on an island and all my problems would be over. I was so wrong. I never made it to Jekyll Island. I would like for the book to be inspiring to others because no matter how bad your life is running away will not solve your problems. You should face your problems and deal with them and move on.

Q: Who has inspired you as an author?
I think that Carolyn Keene who has written the Nancy Drew mystery stories has been my inspiration my whole life. I used to go to the local library and check out all the Nancy Drew books that they would allow me to check out at one time when I was younger. I’ve probably read about all of them. I’ve always wanted to be a detective just like Nancy Drew and solve mysteries. Later on, after my Heartbroken Promises series are finished, I would like to write some more mystery stories since I have a lot of ideas on what I want to write about.

Q: What age did you discover writing? What is your earliest work about?
I discovered writing in middle school. I loved to write way back then. I would write short fictional stories in a notebook. My earliest work was of course about a fictional detective who would solve crimes at schools. My best friend and I in middle school vowed that we would be detectives together when we grew up. That didn’t happen but it sounded like a real good idea at the time. Plans change and people take different career paths sometimes.

Q: What’s the most interesting comment you have received about your book?
The most interesting comment that I have received about my book is that it has an interesting plot and that it does have a lot of action in it.

Q: Do you have a specific time or place for writing?
During the day or at night is my best time for writing on my novels. I Definitely don’t write first thing in the morning or late at night. In the morning it takes me awhile to wake up and late at night I’m too tired to think. I like to sometimes sit outside on my back deck and write on my laptop. Also, I will sometimes take a notebook with me to a local park and while my husband fishes, I will write some more on my novel. Other than that, I will sit in the office and type on the computer.

Q: What is next for you?
I plan to write many, many more books. I have a lot of ideas on what I want to write about and I really enjoy writing. It is not a task to me it is like a hobby because I thoroughly enjoy it. I want to inspire others who may think that their life is bad not to give up and that they don’t run away from their problems. Life can be great even though there are ups and downs.

book excerpt for Heartbroken Promises2:

“Well, I don’t care about him and he can propose to someone else for all I care,” she said fighting back the urge to cry. “All he thinks of is only one thing anyway,” she said. “And that’s sex!”
“Miranda laughed. “Most guys do but that isn’t a reason not to marry a guy,” she said looking at her sister. “You’re just young that’s all,” she stated. “Come on,” she said tugging at her arm. “We’re going out for supper.”
“Supper…but what about lunch?” she asked surprised. Miranda laughed. “You slept through lunch silly,” she said tugging on her arm. “Come on…let’s go…” she said pulling her toward the door.

2 Comments

Filed under authors, books, information

2 responses to “Heartbroken Promises 2, by Sherry Shumard

  1. Thanks bookmadness for hosting me today. I really enjoyed answering the questions.

    Sherry D. Shumard
    Author of Heartbroken Promises

  2. Sherry’s book was a delight to read.

Leave a Reply

